Maigret – Starring Mister Bean (sort of)

MaigretI quite like Mister Bean. Well, the television episodes: not so much the movies. But I think Rowan Atkinson is brilliant. And his hour-long comedy special was hilarious. Johnny English is my favorite spy spoof.

So it was a bit of a surprising move when the makers of a new series of tv movies featuring Georges Simenon’s Inspector Maigret decided to cast Atkinson in the lead. The first two have aired and two more are in the production stages. Atkinson doesn’t do a bad job and I wrote about the whole thing over at BlackGate.com. There is certainly room for improvement, but I think they’re definitely worth watching.

Click on over and read what I had to say. Or don’t. But you might be sorry. Then again, you might not be…

One thought on “Maigret – Starring Mister Bean (sort of)

  1. Jennifer Berg

    I was surprised (okay, I was shocked) when I heard Atkinson would be playing Maigret. I just couldn’t see the connection at all. I like Atkinson, but more Black Adler than Mr. Bean. In any event, he’s very talented, so I think it all comes down to how he carries the role.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

