Story Telling & RPGs (Black Gate)

bg_wraithA couple of weeks ago, I wrote a post over at BlackGate.com, comparing the old school approach to Role Playing Games with the more modern one. I used Swords and Wizardry, a recreation of Original Dungeons and Dragons, and Pathfinder. I’m a fan of both systems.

I think that post has turned out to be one of the most popular I’ve written at Black Gate. So, of course, I went back to the well somewhat and this week, talked a bit about how Role Playing Games are about storytelling. And storytelling is what being a writer is about.

I also mention The Iliad, so you know it’s a good post!

If you’re at all interested in RPGs, or wondering how fantasy games with pen and paper can foster imagination, head on over. And add to the comments, please. We get some good discussion and some great points ‘below the line.’

 

Leave a Reply

