I’m back!

Wow. I didn’t realize that it has been two months since I posted here. ‘The Public Life of Sherlock Holmes’ has continued appearing every Monday morning over at Black Gate . In fact, I hit the hundred post mark last month!

A few weeks ago, I put up a post with links to every single post I made in 2015, which should prove useful if you actually want to read any of what I’ve been writing…

Bogart_FalconPosterThis coming Monday, February 8, I’ve got one coming with a whole lot of info related to ‘The Maltese Falcon.’ I’m primarily focusing on the 1941 film, starring Humphrey Bogart, but I cover a wide range of stuff, including radio, earlier films, the book, a play, and more. I think it’s the greatest private eye novel ever written and the best private eye film ever made. So, worth checking out.

Two weeks ago, I wrote my second post on Nero Wolfe. If you’re here, you probably know that I can hold my own in the world of Sherlock Holmes, and I’m working on a Solar Pons revival. And John D. MacDonald is my all time favorite author. But Rex Stout’s gargantuan detective is actually my favorite series in any genre. I’d write about Wolfe, fiction and non, exclusively if I had the time.

I’ve read an awful lot of fantasy over the years (not really so much anymore) and I’ve been into Terry Brooks’ ‘Shannara’ series from the start. Anybody watching MTV’s ‘The Shannara Chronicles,’ which I posted about? It’s not terrible, but I think it could have been a lot better. I re-read ‘The Elfstones’ for the post and it was actually better than I remembered. The series is more of a the CW network version of Shannara.

I plan on getting back to my weekly posting, and baseball season is almost upon us, so you’ll be seeing a bit about Jackie Robinson soon. But don’t forget you can type my name (Bob Byrne) over at Black Gate and see what I’m putting up every Monday. Plus a bonus post or two.

I’m also pretty active on Facebook and try to post informative and interesting stuff related to Holmes and other mystery subjects.

Oh yeah: how could I forget? After appearing in the initial The MX Book of New Sherlock Holmes Stories (it’s a trilogy – I’m in Volume III), I’m going to be in Volume IV as well! And after I finish the actual story, I’ll be in Volume V, which are all Christmas tales. So, that’s also keeping me busy.

So, while I haven’t been here, I have been writing.

Leave a Reply

