Catching up on Black Gate

Dorak_BookI continue to post over at Black Gate every Monday morning. I just might make it to two straight years! Along with my ‘The Public Life of Sherlock Holmes’ column, I toss in an occasional RPG-related post and I’m still helping with the ‘Discovering Robert E. Howard’ series.

Recently, I went back-to-back with posts on Solar Pons (the guy this site is named after!). The Dorak Affair drew heavily on a real-life archaeological scandal. And I also wrote a post that looked at how August Derleth manged to successfully write Sherlock Holmes pastiches during the hard-boiled era.

I LOVE J.R.R. Tolkien’s word building and history development in ‘The Silmarillion’ and wrote about one piece of it regarding the famed ‘Necklace of the Dwarves.’

Silmarillion_LT2This post provided a list of links to all twenty-one of the articles I’d written so far about Holmes on screen efforts.

After The King is a Tolkien tribute anthology that has a couple of good stories, including one by Charles de Lint.

Having written about Sidney Paget, I was pretty much obligated to do a similar post on Frederic Dorr Steele!

Head on over this coming Monday for a post about the upcoming BBC Sherlock special set in the Victorian Era.

And as always, I’ve got more ideas than time available to research and write posts. I hope to do something on Steve Hockensmith’s ‘Holmes on the Range’ short stories soon (I just don’t have time to re-read the novels, which I quite enjoy).

Leave a Reply

